Nature: The Artist’s Tutor

When I judge art, I take my painting and put it next to a God made object like a tree or flower. If it clashes, it is not art.
Paul Cezanne

My first name is spelled J-E-S-S-I-A.  I joke lately that my mother gave me that name so that I could learn to be assertive.  You see, anytime I go to the store or the doctor, or just about anywhere I have to reiterate that my name is not JESSICA.  I used to assume that people just thought that I misspelled my name, until recently, when I learned that our brains automatically complete information.  People just automatically placed the “C” in my name because their brain was completing the image for them.

Just for fun:  This free web app allows you to sketch pictures over backgrounds of clouds.  This is your brain using its very own “auto-complete.” Appropriate for our Art Clouds Blog.

http://www.klowdz.com/draw/

Just the other day I was wondering if there was some sort of mathematical correlation between tree-branches, roots, brain neurons, and lightning strikes.  Lo and behold I discovered that the similarity in design between these things is more than just visually related.

Another beautiful video that shows symmetry at work in nature:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment